© Darrington Parish Council 2014
Clerk: Cllr Kelvin Wilkins.
Chair: Cllr Michael Britton
Darrington, Wentbridge, Carleton and Grove Hall, have all played their part in English history.
The Great North road bisected the village and at the height of the coaching days during the 18th century 70 to 80 coaches a day would hurtle through the village on their way to one of the coaching houses at Doncaster or Ferrybridge, some stopping off for refreshment at the Crown or Ship Inn which sat at the Darrington crossing. The steep decent into and out of Wentbridge and the isolation of the stretch of road on either side made the area a favourite for Highwaymen; Nevison and Turpin are both known to have worked the area.
The village was by-
Darrington’s 13th century St Luke’s church is one of the top 100 listed buildings in England, some of the glass dates back to the 15th century.
Wentbridge boasts a fine Victorian Church built in 1878 in the Gothic Revival style.
There are a number of listed buildings in the parish, the major one being Darrington Hall.
The original Darrington hall was a large rambling manorial hall which served as a recuperation hospital after the First World War. Successive owners have demolished wings on both sides leaving a very attractive large private house, which is steeped in history.
The village of Darrington is truly ancient; a Roman Road is known to have passed through the Parish. There was a Church, Manor House, Farmsteads and Dwelling Houses here before the Norman Conquest. The Doomsday book shows that Darrington was the largest manor in the district with an annual value of 100 shillings.